Friday, July 24, 2015

Loving Lucas by Violetta Rand

Title:  Loving Lucas
Series:  Lies & Leather #1
Author:  Violetta Rand
Publication Date:  July 5/16 by Loveswept
Length:  208pgs
Genre:  contemporary romance
Shelf:  review
Rating: ★★★★

Back Cover Blurb:

Perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Monica Murphy, Violetta Rand’s explosive new Lies & Leather series kicks off with a red-hot motorcycle racer who rides hard and plays for keeps.

Twenty-one-year-old Karlie Augustine is a survivor. She’s smart and tough, but she’s in too deep with a bad boyfriend who isn’t above breaking her spirit—or her body. Luckily, help arrives in the form of a leather-clad, motorcycle-riding hunk on the right side of the law. Lucas Lafontaine is pure muscle, a Corpus Christi cop who ignites something primal deep within Karlie. And when he offers her room and board in exchange for housekeeping, she finally starts to feel safe again.

As their arrangement turns deliciously decadent, Lucas gets hooked on Karlie’s killer body and fighting spirit. He wants to heal the pain he sees behind her eyes, but to protect her he needs to keep her close, especially now that her psycho ex won’t take a hint. Even as Lucas fights his own battle for custody of his young son, he knows that what he’s found with Karlie is real—and that he’d do anything to protect the woman he wants to take to the finish line.

My Review:

What a ride! Rand took me on an emotional, heartbreaking, at times bone breaking journey through love, loss, redemption, and friendship. I loved the indepth stories for each of the characters. Their pasts are as important to the current events as their present choices. Rand mixes chemistry and sheer sensuality with the hardships of overcoming abuse and missing family. It broke my heart to watch the characters go through these trials, yet the story was so heartfelt and hot that I was hooked. That said, I found that everything was tied up in just a little bit too neat of a bow at the end, after the turmoil throughout the story, and the difficulties that preceded it. This was a fantastic story and a great launch to this new series, but it just seemed to be missing a dash of Rand’s usual flair. Don’t get me wrong, I loved this novel, but it was missing the ‘can’t put it down’ quality that this author usually has.

The characters in this novel were quite well developed and fun to get to know. My heart broke for Karlie. Her past would be something very difficult to overcome. I loved the patience and compassion that Lucas has for her, even as he’s trying to work through his own issues. The supporting cast was quite unique as well. Karlie’s best friend definitely made me giggle a time or two, while Craig & Mariesela’s appearance will bring a smile to the faces of all those who enjoyed Rand’s foray into the Devil’s Den.

All in all, this was a fantastic, heartfelt, hot & hard hitting novel that I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend to others. I can’t wait to see where Rand goes with this series from here.

Book Links 

No comments:

Post a Comment